Give Us The Future / n.b.k. Berlin

Give Us The Future.

Artists: Carsten Fock, Niklas Goldbach, Elín Hansdóttir, Bettina Hutschek, Sylbee Kim, Sara Lehn, Achim Lengerer, Pia Linz, Adrian Lohmüller, Marina Naprushkina, Mario Pfeifer, Anatoly Shuravlev, Sabina Maria van der Linden, Ming Wong, Amir Yatziv

Scholars of the Berlin Senate Scholarship of Fine Arts 2013

Curator: Frank Wagner

March 1 – April 20, 2014

Opening: Friday, February 28, 2014, 7 pm

With the exhibition Give Us The Future, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein takes on the task to showcase the scholars of the Berlin Senate scholarship of Fine Arts. The exhibition marks the launch of some innovations, as there will be, in comparison to previous shows, new emphases, both thematic and curatorial. It will be a presentation of fifteen outstanding positions of the contemporary art scene in Berlin. The international artists, who are living and working in Berlin, in various ways deal with ideas of the present and the future. The title of a punk song by the British band One Way System from 1982 has become the motto for the exhibition Give Us The Future. At the time the song was meant to be a furious attack against the conservative Thatcher government, however today, the eponymous exhibition takes a specific look at the present. In videos, photographs, paintings, sculptures and installations, the artists take up social issues and reflect failed utopias as well as approaches of a critical understanding of current and past life plans. They shine a light on the recent developments of Berlin as a center and a trendsetter of the arts and a production site. Accompanying the exhibition, the public program invites to panel discussions, talks on art practice and to theme-based performances.


Within the n.b.k. book series “Berlin” a publication will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne, with a foreword by Marius Babias and André Schmitz, as well as essays by Kolja Reichert, Frank Wagner and Silke Wittig.

Comments are closed.